Powerless – The Year the Lights Went Out

Tuesday, December 31

I’m pleased we decorated the church yesterday and delivered food to the pub, as the weather is not so good again today. I have begun to worry how we shall get the church tomorrow if it is very wet. Anna had wanted to arrive on horseback, but that won’t be practical if it is raining. Martin is meant to be giving her away, in the absence of her own father, but he may have to drive us all there as well.

I still have not seen what the girls have been sewing in secret, but I have my own fashion and beauty problems to worry me. In these powerless days, warmth and comfort have been the greatest priority rather than style, but I feel I must make an effort to look presentable. So I after breakfast I boiled as much water as I could for hair washing and a strip wash, so I would have a clean canvas as it were to work on. Then I used some of my dwindling stock of moisturiser and body lotion to improve the condition of my red nose and cracked hands.

But I cannot endure even a wedding if I am cold, so I have decided to wear leggings under a long velvet skirt, which will hide my new boots and knee length socks. With this, I will wear the cashmere and mink cardigan Martin and Jane brought back for me from a vintage dress shop in San Francisco several years ago. It is so warm it can only be used in very cold weather, and over this I’m wearing a long black velvet coat with a big fur collar. I know black is not usually considered appropriate for a wedding, but I shall brighten it all up with raspberry gloves and a matching velvet hat, which I shan’t take off, even in the pub, as my hair is so grey now.

I felt much happier once I was clean and had sorted my wardrobe. I hope Anna and Jane are making themselves feel attractive too. It doesn’t matter for the men and Martin has grumbled about having to wear his suit and smart coat tomorrow, but I’ve insisted.

Tomorrow is New Year’s Day, the start of a new year, the start of their married life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by Suzanne Goldring. Bookmark the permalink.

About Suzanne Goldring

Suzanne Goldring writes the kind of novels she likes to read, about the extraordinary lives of ordinary people. Two of her novels have been placed in the Winchester Writers' Conference First Three Pages of a Novel competition. She is currently working on a novel set in Corfu and her blog is a diary, set in real time, called Powerless, The Year the Lights Went Out.

One thought on “Powerless – The Year the Lights Went Out

Leave a Reply

