Powerless – The Year the Lights Went Out

Monday, January 6

When I shut up the hens last night the air was really mild, almost warm. But of course that signalled rain and I was kept awake all night by the sound of water glugging down the drainpipe that runs beside our bedroom window. I haven’t walked up the lane today but I expect it is flooded again.

My sleep was also disturbed by an annoying cough. I won’t waste scarce medicine on something so trivial, so I am hoping a spoonful of honey will soothe my throat and it won’t develop into anything more serious. In these difficult times we are all anxious to stay healthy.

At least Anna is blooming and in the best of health. Her pregnancy is progressing well so far and our doctor estimates she will be due mid to late July. He told her to get iron tablets and vitamins from the chemist now, just in case supplies run out later on when she really needs them, so we hope she will continue to thrive.

Martin and Stephen have been clearing up more of the trees felled by the storms. It is so important to have dry kindling to keep the fires going that I given up trying to stop them piling branches and fir tree fronds inside the house. It is so wet outside and so damp in the shelters, that the house is the only dry place.

I think the chickens are feeling the affect of the weather too. There were three eggs today, but the blue one laid by one of the legbars broke as I tried to pick it up, so I tossed it to the hens and they ate it immediately.

Leave a Reply

