Powerless – The Year the Lights Went Out

Sunday, March 23 – Hymns and him

I woke very early to sun streaming through the windows, highlighting all the dust and candle wax that has dripped on windowsills and floors during this crisis. There was a hard frost which may have caught the magnolia flowers, just as they are emerging.

And then, as I gazed at the beautiful light softly illuminating the grounds, I remembered. There is an immediate problem to solve and if I don’t address it we shall all be in terrible trouble. Stephen’s Roman solution won’t work, I’m sure. I can’t rely on the men to rinse and clean the basin every time and anyway, what would we use, in place of a sponge on a stick? I don’t think Stephen and Martin realise how important hygiene is to women and girls, especially an expectant mother. No, I must solve this problem quickly, before we run out of paper altogether.

As we walked to church in the bright sun, Martin asked me if I was in a mood. I said I certainly wasn’t, I was just thinking. He asked me what I was thinking about and I said, what else is there to think about? Aren’t you aware of how serious this is? He looked blank. I honestly think he’d forgotten overnight about our dilemma. When I reminded him, he said well don’t blame me. At least I brought back loads of toilet paper in the first place. I said that was true and we were very grateful, but now we have to stop blaming each other and think how we can solve the problem.

He nudged me as we were sitting in the pew in church, just before the service began and flicked the pages in his hymn book. Paper, he hissed at me, lots of paper here. I glared at him and turned my attention to singing  ‘Love divine, all loves excelling’.

9 thoughts on “Powerless – The Year the Lights Went Out

  1. You supposed to keep the books in the khazi so youz got something to read while you sitting there. Then you can tear out each page as you finish reading. Penguins and Corgis is very absorbent.

Leave a Reply

