Powerless – The Year the Lights Went Out

Monday, March 24 – Ripping yarns

Although I was very annoyed with Martin’s irreverence in church yesterday, he set me thinking. We have loads of books in the house, many of them destined for the charity shop anyway. But when I told Martin, he rushed to my bookcase and picked up my much loved copy of Pride and Prejudice. No, I shouted, not books we want to keep!

He shrugged and put it back, but I don’t trust him or Stephen, so I’ve said I’ll decide which books can end their days as toilet paper. I think unwanted paperbacks can work quite well. By keeping them intact and ripping out pages as they are needed, the paper will be neatly contained, like a pack of old-fashioned Izal paper, which came as individual sheets in a cardboard box.

Of course, I also realised that paperbacks, while printed on thin paper, are not made of soft toilet tissue, which can be flushed. So I think we may have to resort to the method we had to get used to in Corfu, of disposing of the used paper in a bin. It always seemed unpleasant, but we soon got used to it and we don’t want to have a blocked toilet.

Quite how long this will provide us with an adequate supply, I’m not sure, but I’ve already started sorting out books that we’ll never read again. Stephen’s said we can have all his Dan Browns and I found a couple of Jeffrey Archers too. And Jane shocked me by coming downstairs with a copy of Fifty Shades of Grey and when I said I was very surprised at her, she said all her friends had been talking about it and she wanted to see what all the fuss was about.  She says she never finished it.

3 thoughts on “Powerless – The Year the Lights Went Out

Leave a Reply

