Powerless – The Year The Lights Went Out

From October 2013 to July 2014, I posted a daily fictional blog on this site, imagining how I would cope if there was a long term national power cut in the UK. I thought about how we would heat our rambling old house, gathering kindling before the winter rains soaked the wood, how we would pick mushrooms and nuts, hunt for game and how we could barter goods with other villagers. I decided to adopt the voice of an ordinary mother, unprepared for such a disaster, who is determined that her family will survive.
Powerless was never intended to be an accurate survival guide, but I imagined the narrator being resourceful, resilient and positive. I wrote the entries each day and was faithful to the weather at that time. Above all, I wanted Powerless to carry a message of hope rather than an apocalyptic cry of doom.
In the past week, this blog site has seen a sudden surge in traffic, with well over 6,000 hits, nearly all of them re-reading Powerless from the archives. As it is not an easy task to read the blogs in reverse, I have decided to repost Powerless day by day, as well as serialising my novel, The Way We lied.
Powerless will resume on December 1 with the first entry, dated October 8, and will run all the way through to the final entry. If you like it, please share it with friends.

Leave a Reply

