The Way We Lied

“But what am I supposed to do? I feel so unworthy of him and yet I have this all consuming and powerful urge to respond to him.”
She put both hands to his cheeks and turned his face towards her. “You could use your talents for the good. That would be a wonderful answer.”
“My talents? I’m a businessman. I do advertising. That’s all I’ve ever known.”
“Then do good advertising. No, I don’t mean in the creative or aesthetic sense, I mean ethical advertising for ethical clients. Work for organisations that can help the world.”
He cleared his throat and took a gulp of the red wine. Breathing more calmly now he said, “Yes, it’s possible. Not impossible. It would take time, but I could do that. In fact I’d like to do that. I’m tired of slogging away for supermarket giants that trample on small businesses and gas guzzling cars that clog the roads and fast food outlets that clog arteries. I’m weary of their deAlex and their greed.”
She stroked his arm. “Well done, Charles, that’s a start. I know you can do it if you put your mind to it. And in the process you would come to feel good about yourself as well as actually doing good.”
“I can’t abandon all of our present clients instantly, of course. If the business went into decline that wouldn’t achieve anything, but we could gradually shift our client base I think.” He was calmer, but thoughtful, rubbing his forehead as he considered the future.
“I’d have to get the others on board as well, but, do you know, I think they’d be all for it. We’d have to develop a new business strategy, but it could actually set us apart, even give the business a boost in fact.”
He was sounding quite positive now. “Yeah, I think I could see us becoming a new style of agency and still being pretty successful too.”
“You see, it’s not so hard. The toughest part is the mental journey.” She put her hand to his cheek and turned his face towards hers. “I’m very proud of you. One day you will look back and realise that this is probably the most important decision you have ever made.” Then she kissed him softly on the lips.
In that moment, Charles knew he desired her. He returned her kiss and clutched her breasts, then almost as suddenly drew back. “Sorry, I shouldn’t have. Please forgive me.”
She smiled at him. “No, it’s alright. I would like to comfort you and give you the confidence to go ahead. I have no other way of thanking you.” And then she stood, removed her shirt and walked to the door and locked it. “I won’t be upset if you don’t want my gift,” she said, standing there, her large breasts enticing him. Then she walked back to the sofa and cradled his head between her breasts. He held her buttocks and sucked her nipples and then they undressed. She lay down on his desk and guided him towards her and he took her offering eagerly.
When it was over, he felt released and contented. He dressed slowly, then poured more wine. He sat on the sofa watching while she buckled the belt of her jeans and buttoned her loose shirt.
“You are the most extraordinary person I have ever met, Mary. There is simply no one else like you.”
“And you are becoming an extraordinary person too, my sweet.” She stroked his cheek with one finger and sat beside him.
“I don’t even feel guilty about…..about what we just did.”
She smiled. “Nor should you feel guilty. You have bared your heart and soul to me and I had to thank you. This is the only gift I have for you and it will never be repeated. I shall see you again, but not many more times. I know that you have listened and that you have changed. So you won’t need me much longer.” She kissed his cheek, then walked to the door and unlocked it. “Goodbye Charles. Work hard.”

to be continued May 26

Leave a Reply

